Monday, April 30, 2012

Newlyweds: Movie Review

 

Characters who step out of their relationship and into real life.

The opening scene of “Newlyweds” looks like it could have come out of any Woody Allen movie (or “Husbands and Wives” to be more specific). Two couples are sitting in a restaurant discussing the various ins and outs of married life. And then they turn to the camera and start saying what they really think. The editing from typical romantic dramedy-styled scenes to documentary-styled scenes is where the comedy comes in. 2011

Directed by: Edward Burns

Screenplay by: Edward Burns

Starring: Edward Burns, Caitlin Fitzgerald, Kerry Bishé

Saturday, April 28, 2012

The Raven: Movie Review

 

Poe's literary roots still shine through the action-influenced detective story.

A merging of the life of Edgar Allan Poe, his poetry, the crimes of his stories and a woven, fictional tale of all of the above is “The Raven”. In the opening minute, I was ready to knock the film down for missing some of the significant details of The Murders in the Rue Morgue. Except this film isn’t trying to faithfully recreate anything, you just have to get interested in a Poe-based detective story.
2012

Directed by: James McTeague

Screenplay by: Ben Livingston and Hannah Shakespeare

Starring: John Cusack and Luke Evans

Friday, April 27, 2012

The Five-Year Engagement: Movie Review

 

Dragging out a romantic comedy with some hilarity and heart but a lot of bad jokes.

“The Five-Year Engagement” has one of those titles where no other explanations are necessary. It’s a romantic comedy, obviously. They fall in and out of love, obviously. And it’s way too long. I’m not sure why Hollywood hasn’t figured out that romantic comedies do not need to be more than two hours long. We know the formula, trust us. 2012

Directed by: Nicholas Stoller

Screenplay by: Nicholas Stoller and Jason Segel

Starring: Jason Segel, Emily Blunt

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Apart: Movie Review


   


Darkness and confusion of teenage love and disaster.
“Apart” starts with the premise that two teenagers share the same psychological infliction: induced delusional disorder. Apparently, they are the only two people on the planet with this disorder. Based on that “fact” I assumed it was a made up disorder, and so I sat waiting for my way in to experience their reality. They never gave me any such connection. Afterwards, I discovered it was a real disorder, but one that only two fictional characters suffer from they tried to have me believe. 2011

Directed by: Aaron Rottinghaus

Screenplay by: Aaron Rottinghaus and Josh Danziger

Starring: Josh Danziger and Olesya Rulin

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Stuck Between Stations: Movie Review

 

A relationship drama about the characters and what they have to say.

Not too often do small, indie, unknown films come along and engage you with dialogue, only dialogue. That’s what makes “Stuck Between Stations” such a good movie. There isn’t really a story as it just meanders along with two semi- directionless people on one night with parties and conversations. The trailer suggested there was a mysterious element, but none to be found. Rebecca and Casper connect and reconnect and we connect with them on a very meaningful and personal level.
2011

Directed by: Brady Kiernan

Screenplay by: Sam Rosen, Nat Bennett

Starring: Zoe Lister Jones, Sam Rosen and Josh Hartnett

Friday, April 20, 2012

The Lucky One: Movie Review

 

The pure fate of romantic dramas in an all-romance story.

“The Lucky One” is a romantic drama stripped down to its bare essentials, so it’s kind of romantic and kind of dramatic. Zac Efron stars as Logan a marine who finds a photo of a beautiful girl in the rubble in Iraq. It would have belonged to a fellow soldier, most likely a fallen soldier. Logan keeps it, believing it keeps him alive, and when he returns to the States he travels across the country to find this woman. 2012

Directed by: Scott Hicks

Screenplay by: Will Fetters
Based on the novel by Nicholas Sparks

Starring: Zac Efron and Taylor Schilling

Sunday, April 15, 2012

We Bought a Zoo: Movie Review

 

Walks the Hollywood line but is sweet, funny and enjoyable.

“We Bought a Zoo” is a family movie. And I’m going to make that distinction very clear. A children’s movie is family friendly but is enjoyed by children and pretty much only children. A family movie is family friendly and can be enjoyed by anyone and is meant to be enjoyed by everyone. This film is pretty much the only example that comes to mind and that just proves how rare it is. 2011

Directed by: Cameron Crowe

Screenplay by: Aline Brosh McKenna and Cameron Crowe

Starring: Matt Damon and Scarlett Johansson

Sunday, April 8, 2012

A Lonely Place to Die: Movie Review

 

Value added to the thriller genre taken away by too many bad guys.

"A Lonely Place to Die" is an intense thriller set in the Scottish highlands. A group of competent mountain climbers are off on one of their usual adventures trekking across remote and treacherous terrain. And then they discovered a little girl buried alive. Our young heroes must decide if they're going to rescue her (of course they are), where to go for help, and how are they going to get there.
2011

Directed by: Julian Gilbey

Screenplay by: Julian Gilbey and Will Gilbey

Starring: Melissa George and Ed Speleers

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Columbus Circle: Movie Review


The plot of crimes moves along quickly but leaves the characters behind.

A collection of good, underused actors and actresses have been assembled in "Columbus Circle". It's the type of place that is described as anything can happen there. I'll take their word for it. The events that occur in the movie get increasingly far-fetched as we go along, and unfortunately, to the detriment of the enjoyment of the film.2012

Directed by: George Gallo

Screenplay by: George Gallo, Kevin Pollack

Starring: Selma Blair and Amy Smart

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Rid of Me: Movie Review

 

A bleak character study encompassing the best and discomfort of a dark comedy.

Advertised as a black comedy, and that’s all, “Rid of Me” suggests that there is an event or plot twist that should not be revealed. And indeed it does open with an obscene, aberrant action which most people have the little bit of self-restraint required to never perform such an act. Following that opening sequence, the film reveals two subtle twists which show how unique and independent this is.2011

Directed by: James Westby

Screenplay by: James Westby

Starring: Katie O'Grady